客户获取Cost: How to Calculate CAC [+Benchmarks & Formulas to Know]

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索菲亚·伯纳扎尼(Sophia Bernazzani)
索菲亚·伯纳扎尼(Sophia Bernazzani)

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如果您想在仍然赚钱的同时扩大客户群,那么您需要专注于customer acquisitioncost (CAC). In this post, we give you a quick and comprehensive rundown of how to calculate CAC and which industry benchmarks to compare your CAC against.

executives shaking hands and discussing the company's customer acquisition cost

But, before we get started, here's a table of contents to help you find exactly what you're looking for. → Download Now: Customer Service Metrics Calculator [Free Tool]

目录

总销售和营销成本包括所有计划和营销支出,薪水,佣金,奖金以及与吸引新潜在客户并将其转换为客户相关的间接费用。

成功的公司的目标是不断减少客户收购成本- 不仅是为了弥补收入,还因为这是您的销售,营销和客户服务计划健康的标志。

A company's CAC is the total sales and marketing cost that go into earning a new customer over a specific period. This is an important metric to consider when determining the profitability of your company because it compares the amount of money you spend on attracting customers against the number of customers you actually gained. When CAC is compared against LTV (lifetime value), you'll have an even better sense of how profitable you'll be in the future after the customers have been around for a longer period of time.

客户获取Cost Use Case Scenarios

It can be challenging to pinpoint every budget line item that contributes to CAC, so we've outlined some scenarios that can help you think about where you're incurring costs to acquire customers throughout the business—not just in the marketing swag and gift card departments.

客户获取Cost in Marketing

如果您的入站营销计划成功地运行,那么当您的博客内容每天24小时带来高质量的有机潜在客户时,您就不必专门用于付费广告来产生高质量和低质量的潜在客户。reybet雷竞技下载

客户获取Cost in Sales

假设您的销售团队一直在探测和培养健康的管道。虽然似乎很容易增加员工人数,但您无需急于雇用其他代表来每个季度的配额。原因是因为现有的销售代表具有足够的能力来处理管道中的潜在客户数量并完成这些交易。

客户成功的客户获取成本

The customer success team at your company should be retaining and cultivating relationships with happy customers. As a result, they will help the business generate new customers by writing testimonials and reviews, serving as case studies, and telling their friends and family about you. In addition, if the leads from these sources become customers, you will have earned them free of charge, which will lower your customer acquisition cost even further.

当您减少CAC时,这意味着您的企业正在更有效地花钱,您可能会看到更高的回报。这是计算当前CAC的方法,以便您可以减少它。

如何计算客户获取成本

步骤1:选择计算时间段。

The first step in calculating your customer acquisition cost is to determine the time period that you're evaluating for (month, quarter, year). This will help you narrow down the scope of your data.

步骤2:计算您的CAC。

Next, add together your total marketing and sales expenses and divide that total by the number of new customers acquired during the period. The result value should be your company's estimated cost of acquiring a new customer.

以下是您可以用来计算业务CAC的公式。

CAC Formula

您可以通过使用此公式来计算客户的获取成本:客户获取成本=销售成本和营销除以获取的新客户数量。

We can see how this formula plays out in the graphic below.

customer acquisition cost formula

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For example, let's say your company spends $500K on sales and $300K on marketing. Additionally, your company generated 800 new customers during the last fiscal quarter. Therefore, if we were to calculate the CAC for your business, the cost to acquire a customer for that quarter would be $1K ((500K + 300K)/800= 1K).

步骤3:将您的CAC与关键业务指标进行比较。

Once you have calculated CAC for your company, you can compare this value against other关键业务指标。通过这样做,您将发现有关营销,销售和客户服务活动的有意义的见解。

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CAC公式中要包含的成本类型

如果您不确定“销售成本和营销成本”是什么,请考虑此指标的以下费用。

Ad Spend

广告支出是您花在广告上的钱。对于某些企业而言,广告是吸引新客户的好方法。为了使广告工作,您的广告系列必须引起目标受众的共鸣。如果您不确定自己是否在营销活动中获得良好的回报,则可以通过将广告所产生的收入除以在该活动上花费的资金来计算其价值。

Employee Salaries

Great employees are always worth the investment. So, pay close attention to how you approach this cost if you feel it's too high. There may be alternative options for reducing money spent on salaries other than issuing pay cuts or layoffs. For example,聊天机器人marketing automation可以补充团队的工作流程并提高公司的整体生产力。raybet电子竞技

创意成本

Creative costs are what you spend on creating content. This could be money spent on acquiring talent to promote your company, or it could be what you spent on lunch for your team meeting. All of these costs factor into content production.

技术成本

Technical costs refer to the technology that your marketing and sales team use. For example, if you purchased a报告工具这跟踪您的公开交易的进度,这将是一项技术成本。

出版成本

Publishing costs are what's spent to release your marketing campaign to the public. This could be money spent on TV air time, paid social media ads, or a spot in a newspaper or magazine.

生产成本

Production costs are the costs associated with physically creating content. For example, if you're making a video, you need to buy a camera, create a set, edit the video, etc. These costs add up, especially if you're paying a third party to produce your content.

Inventory Upkeep

Even if you're aSaaSbusiness, you'll have to spend money on maintaining and optimizing your products. For businesses that sell physical products, this cost would include utility bills and storage fees at a facility. But if you're selling software, this is the money you’d spend on updates and patches to improve the user experience.

客户获取成本示例

让我们看一些说明如何计算CAC的示例。

示例1:软件公司雷竞技苹果下载官方版raybet电子竞技

假设一家CRM软件公司在营销活动上花费雷&raybet电子竞技#31454;技苹果下载官方版30,000美元。竞选活动结束后,该公司发现2,000名新客户开始raybet电子竞技订阅其服务。

每年,该公司每年都会为这些新客户raybet电子竞技花费50,000美元的技术和生产成本。

该软件公司的CAC将是:雷竞技苹果下载官方版raybet电子竞技

CAC =($ 50,000 + $ 30,000)÷2,000 = $ 80,000÷2,000 = $ 40

这意味着软件公司花费了40美元雷&raybet电子竞技#31454;技苹果下载官方版来获取每个新客户。

示例2:消费品公司raybet电子竞技

假设一家消费品公司在销售上花费5,000美元和1,raybet电子竞技000美元的营销来吸引1000个新客户。然后,公司的CACraybet电子竞技计算为:

CAC = ($5,000 + $1,000) ÷ 1,000 = $6,000 ÷ 1,000 = $6

示例3:制造公司raybet电子竞技

如果一家出售建筑材料的制造公司在营销上raybet电子竞技花费10,000美元,销售额为5,000美元,但收购了200个新客户,那么该公司的CAC是:

CAC =($ 10,000 + $ 5,000)÷200 = $ 15,000÷200 = $ 75

示例4:房地产公司raybet电子竞技

A real estate company that sells duplexes spends $25,000 on marketing and $10,000 on sales. After running their ads, the company acquired 70 new customers.

The CAC for this real estate company would be:

CAC =($ 25,000 + $ 10,000)÷70 = $ 35,000÷70 = $ 500

LTV to CAC Comparison

One metric to analyze in relation to customer acquisition cost is a客户的终身价值(LTV)。LTV是一个客户在整个与公司的关系中都会产生的预测收入。raybet电子竞技

要计算LTV,您需要一些变量才能插入公式:

Average purchase value: Calculate this number by dividing your company's total revenue in a time period (usually one year) by the number of purchases over the course of that same period.

平均购买频率:通过将时间段内的购买数除以在此期间进行购买的独特客户的数量来计算此数字。

Customer value: Calculate this number by multiplying the average purchase value by the average purchase frequency.

平均客户lifespan: Calculate this number by averaging out the number of years a customer continues purchasing from your company.

然后,通过将客户价值乘以平均客户寿命来计算LTV。这将使您估计您可以合理地期望普通客户在与您的关系中为您的公司生成多少收入。raybet电子竞技

Thus, your company's LTV to CAC ratio, or LTV: CAC, is a quick indicator of a customer's value relative to how much it costs to earn them.

LTV与CAC比率

Businesses use LTV to CAC ratio (LTV: CAC) to guide spending habits for marketing, sales, and customer service. LTV: CAC shows a brief snapshot of how much customers are worth compared to how much the business is spending to attain them.

Companies should aim to find the right balance for this ratio to ensure they're getting the most out of their financial investments.Ideally, it should take roughly one year to recoup the cost of customer acquisition, and your LTV: CAC should be 3:1 — in other words, the value of your customers should be three times the cost of acquiring them.

如果是接近1:1,这意味着你的支出just as much money on attaining customers as they're spending on your products. If it's higher than 3:1, like 5:1, for example, that means you're not spending enough on sales and marketing and could be missing out on opportunities to attract new leads.

在这一点上,您可能想知道一个好的CAC是什么样的?好吧,这可能取决于您的行业。因此,为了使您的团队更好地了解要努力的事情,本文的以下部分破坏了不同行业的平均客户获取成本。

Customer Costs by Industry

Customer acquisition cost varies across industries due to several different factors — including, but not limited, to:

  • Length of sales cycle
  • 购买值
  • Purchase frequency
  • Customer lifespan
  • raybet电子竞技公司成熟

So to put CAC into context, here's a rundown ofaverage customer acquisition cost by industryas reported by First Page Sage:

从第一页鼠尾草来源的行业的平均客户获取成本Image Source

如何提高客户获取成本

有几种不同的方法可以提高客户获取成本,以使LTV:CAC比率接近3:1。以下是一些努力的策略:

  • 投资转化率优化(CRO):Make sure it's simple and straightforward for visitors to convert into leads or for leads to convert into customers and make purchases on your site. Optimize your site for mobile form submissions and shopping, test website copy to make sure it's as clear as possible, and try to create a touchless sales process so your visitors can buy from you 24/7.
  • Add value:通过给客户有价值的东西来提高客户价值。收集客户反馈, and whether it's a product fix, a new feature, or a complementary product offering, do your best to give customers what they're asking for to make them stick around longer.
  • 实施客户推荐计划:如果您的客户从他们的网络中提到了一个热情的线索,他们已经有兴趣了解您的产品或服务,那么如果他们转换,他们的特定CAC将为0美元。这些“免费”客户会随着时间的流逝而降低您的CAC,因此请建立一个客户推荐计划您的客户想参加。
  • Streamline your sales cycle:减少典型销售周期的长度,以增加一年中可能影响的销售量。用一个CRM勘探与更合格的潜在客户建立联系的工具。

包起来

It’s only when you know how much it costs to bring in new customers, that you can make informed business decisions and predict how profitable your company would be in the long run.

So, take the time out now, to find your company’s customer acquisition costs to see how you can allocate your resources better.

编者注:该帖子最初于2017年10月发表,并已更新以进行全面性。

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